Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Glaze

20 Oct

Didn’t I tell you there would be more pumpkin in your near future?  This was my very first attempt at scones of any kind, and I was surprised at just how simple they were to make!  I finally got myself one of those fancy-pants pastry cutters, and these gave me an opportunity to use it.  I can’t believe I didn’t get one sooner…WAY better than using a fork!

I made these for a lovely fall road trip I took with a couple of my friends last weekend, which included A&W (ughhh), mini bottles of wine (double ughhh), and a trip to a pumpkin patch complete with a hayride.  So much fun!

Anyway, back to these scones!  Being a first time scone baker, I wasn’t sure what to expect, but since they turned out so fabulously, I think I will be trying lots of other versions in the near future.  The only issue I had with the original recipe was the glaze(s).  There is supposed to be a spiced glaze that gets brushed on top of the scones, followed by a drizzle of powdered sugar glaze.  I guess my spiced glaze didn’t have enough milk…it wouldn’t really “brush” onto the scones.  It more or less glopped onto them.  So, since it was late and I’m lazy and didn’t feel like going to the fridge to get the milk and make it work, I just put it in a sandwich bag, snipped off the corner, and drizzled a pretty design on top.  I’m glad I did, because these things looked fancy!  Also, I didn’t have ginger or cloves like the original recipe calls for, so I just used cinnamon and nutmeg.

This is yet another recipe from the always fabulous Brown Eyed Baker.  Love that blog.  Hope you enjoy these as much as we did!

Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Glaze

Source: Brown Eyed Baker

Yield: 12 scones

Ingredients:

Scones:
2 cups all-purpose flour
7 T. granulated sugar
1 T. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
½ tsp. ground cinnamon
½ tsp. ground nutmeg
6 T. cold butter
½ cup canned pumpkin
3 T. milk
1 large egg

Spiced Glaze:

1 cup + 3 T. powdered sugar
2 T. milk
¼ tsp. ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.

2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger in a large bowl. Use a fork to cut the butter into the dry ingredients until mixture is crumbly and no chunks of butter are obvious; set aside.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, milk, and egg. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients, and form the dough into a ball. Pat out dough onto a lightly floured surface and form it into a 1-inch thick rectangle about 3 times as long as wide. Use a large knife or a pizza cutter to slice the dough twice through the width, making three equal portions. Cut each of the portions in an X pattern (four pieces) so you end up with 12 triangular slices of dough. Place on prepared baking sheet. Bake for 14-16 minutes, or until light brown. Place on wire rack to cool.

4. To make the spiced glaze, combine all of the ingredients for the spiced glaze. Drizzle over each scone and allow the icing to dry before serving (about an hour).

 

Leave a Reply

