Peanut Butter M&M Chocolate Cookies

11 Oct

Yippeeeeee it’s October!  Boy, do I love fall.  Time for pumpkins, apples, gorgeous leaves, cooler weather, scarves, boots, sweaters, scary movies, corn mazes, obscene amounts of Halloween candy, Halloween itself, costumes, my birthday right around the corner…can you tell it’s my FAVORITE time of year?  To kick it off, I finally got around to baking with Halloween candy.

Now.  We all know that Peanut Butter M&Ms are the mother of all things M&M (although I’ve yet to try the pretzel ones).  Pick out all the non-fall colors, and you’ve got one amazing bag of candy.  Pretty much five minutes after I got back from Target with my goodies, I randomly came across a recipe for chocolate cookies with peanut butter chips.  Then it took about two seconds before I put two and two together: I’ll throw in my M&Ms instead of peanut butter chips.  Best idea of the day.  Apart from actually buying the M&Ms.  And a solo champagne and raspberry picnic under a lovely yellow tree in the park with a good book.  Did I mention how much I love fall?

These things are super yummy.  The only gripe I had is that they didn’t flatten out when I baked them.  If you’re a little OCD like I can sometimes be, shape them into discs instead of scooping them, which will give you a better cookie shape.  Enjoy!

Peanut Butter M&M Chocolate Cookies

Source: adapted just a teense from All Recipes

Yield: 24 regular size cookies, 48 mini cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups Peanut Butter M&Ms

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare cookie sheets by lining with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Stir in the eggs and vanilla. Combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt, stir into the creamed mixture. Finally, fold in the Peanut Butter M&Ms. Drop cookies by heaping teaspoonfuls onto the prepared cookie sheets.
  3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, until set. Cool on wire racks.
Butter Queen’s Notes:
  • Like I mentioned, if you don’t want ball-shaped cookies, shape the dough into discs.  It doesn’t really spread out like cookies normally do.
  • Mine were done at 8 minutes, almost too done (I like them a little gooey), so keep a close eye on them.
Leave a Reply

