Jalapeno Cheddar Bread

21 Sep

I feel like the blog title should be enough.  Jalapenos, cheese, and carbs.  I shouldn’t have to say anything else to persuade you to make this bread.  But I will, because it is ri-gosh-darn-diculously delicious!  I knew the moment I took this cheesy magnificent-ness out of the oven that it would become one of my all-time favorite things to make.  Okay, maybe I knew it when I saw the recipe.

I made this for a weekend trip during which we went canoeing.  We decided to use it for the sandwiches we packed for a long day on the river (after “sampling” half the loaf the night before, of course), and it was just amazing.  I scraped out basically all the seeds from the jalapenos to appease the picky palates, but if you enjoy some spice like I do, I would highly (highly, highly) recommend leaving in half (or more!) of the seeds.

Next time I will make two loaves at once.  It is just that good.  Try this bread plain or toasted, use it for sandwiches, dip it in chili or soup, have it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all day, every day.

Jalapeno Cheddar Bread

Adapted from The Novice Housewife

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 tsp. yeast
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 4 T. butter, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 4 jalapenos, stemmed, seeded (leave a few if you want some heat), and diced
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (I used 2 cups)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper

Directions

1. Pour the yeast into a small bowl and add the warm water. Mix gently and let sit 5 minutes.

2. In a large bowl mix the butter, egg, and milk. Whisk. Add in the yeast and water mixture. Whisk again.

3. Add the salt, sugar, pepper, and flour to the liquid mixture and mix well.

4. Turn the dough on to a floured surface and knead for ten minutes or until dough is smooth. Roll the dough into a ball and place in a greased bowl. Cover with a towel and let rise for 2 hours in a warm place-it should double.

5. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and slowly knead the jalapenos and cheddar into the dough, a little at a time. If the dough becomes sticky add more flour (up to 1/4 cup).

6. Once the jalapenos and cheddar are mixed in, put the dough into a greased bread pan. Cover again with the towel and let rise an additional 2 hours.

7. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Bake the bread for 50-55 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes.

Butter Queen’s Notes:

  • As you can see from the picture, I topped my loaf with additional jalapeno slices and shredded cheese.
2 Responses to “Jalapeno Cheddar Bread”

  1. Shumaila September 21, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    The bread looks lovely! You just made me want to go to the store and buy some jalapenos to make a loaf now. 🙂

    • chelseamm September 22, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      Thanks! I could make this bread every week and never get sick of it!

Leave a Reply

